Manual vs Automatic Time Tracking: Which Should You Use?
Manual timers, timesheets from memory, or automatic time tracking? What each approach gets right and wrong, and how to choose for freelance or agency work.
Comparison · 4 min read
Six time trackers that offer some form of automatic tracking, compared only on facts each one states on its own pricing page. We make Hustled, so we have kept our opinions out of the table.
| Tool | Price (from) | Try before paying | Activity stored |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hustled | $12 a month, one plan | 30-day refund, no trial | On your computer |
| Rize | $9.99 a month billed annually | 7-day free trial | Amazon Web Services |
| Timely | $11 per user a month | 14-day free trial | Not stated |
| Memtime | $14 per user a month | 14-day free trial | Offline on your machine |
| Toggl Track | Free plan | Free plan | Not stated |
| Clockify | Free for up to 5 users | Free plan | Not stated |
Checked on 24 September 2026 from each tool’s pricing page. “Not stated” means the pricing page did not say. Prices change, so check each site before deciding. Each name links to a fuller comparison with the source.
Tired of manual stopwatch apps and intrusive employee surveillance? Hustled records your active windows, organizes your projects, and leaves zero screenshots on cloud servers.
Runs on macOS and Windows 10 or later, with a 7-day free trial and no credit card. Its pricing page says it does not record screens, log keystrokes or track mouse movement, and that its data is hosted on Amazon Web Services. Read our detailed Hustled vs Rize comparison.
Priced per user, from $11 a month billed monthly, with a 14-day free trial. Its pricing page says automatic time tracking is included on all plans. Read our Hustled vs Timely comparison.
Runs on Windows, macOS and Linux, with a 14-day free trial. Its pricing page says activity data is stored offline on your machine. Read our Hustled vs Memtime comparison.
Has a free plan. Its pricing page lists desktop activity tracking for apps and websites used for over 10 seconds. Read our Hustled vs Toggl Track comparison.
Free for up to 5 users, with apps for Windows, Mac and Linux as well as web and mobile. Its pricing page lists an auto tracker for apps and websites, visible only to you. Read our Hustled vs Clockify comparison.
Hustled runs on Windows 10 and 11, with macOS next. $12 a month or $108 a year, with a 7-day free trial and a full refund inside 30 days. It starts with Windows, records on its own, never records what you type or keeps a picture of your screen, and keeps everything it writes down on your own computer.
Hustled starts with Windows, matches active windows to client projects, and never uploads your day to the cloud.
Hustled starts with Windows, notices what you work on, and writes your timesheet. No timers, no screenshots, and your day stays on your computer.
Manual timers, timesheets from memory, or automatic time tracking? What each approach gets right and wrong, and how to choose for freelance or agency work.
A practical way to track billable hours as a freelancer or consultant: what counts as billable, how to capture the small blocks, and how to review a week in minutes.